Welcome to Coastal Observer

Photo galleries
Send a Letter
Local Events
Ad Specs

News updates

Election 2012: Open school board seat draws two candidates

Peggy Wheeler-Cribb has filed to run for the District 6 seat on the Georgetown County School Board.

She will run against Richard Kerr for the seat being vacated by Teresa Bennani, who decided not to seek re-election.

District 6 runs from Heritage Plantation to Wachesaw Plantation along the Waccamaw River and from Pawleys Island to Litchfield Beach along the oceanfront.

The District 6 race will be one of three contested school board races this year.

Sarah Elliott in District 1 and Zelma Carr in District 4, have no opposition.

Reggie Footman and Sandra Johnson are candidates from District 3 in Georgetown; Elery Little and Murray Vernon are candidates from District 5 in the western part of the county.

“I will defend the rights of educators, students, administrators and families to express our precious freedom of religion,” says Wheeler-Cribb’s campaign material. She was owner and director of Happy Times Preschool for 33 years and has been director of Grace Church Ministry for Students at First Baptist Church of Georgetown since 2006.

She received the Georgetown County Jaycees’ Outstanding Young Educator Award in 1976. She was the Georgetown County Business and Professional Woman of the Year in 1998.

Other awards she has received include: City of Georgetown Outstanding Business Leader Award, 1998; Georgetown County School District Education Award, 2007; YMCA of Georgetown County Christian Emphasis Award, 2005 and 2006. She served on the school advisory committee for hiring Superintendent Randy Dozier.

Kerr chairs the school improvement council at Waccamaw Intermediate School and served on a committee that updated the district’s capital improvement plan and the district’s parent council. He ran unsuccessfully against Bennani in a three-way race in 2008.

Eight candidates who collected signatures on petitions were approved for the ballot, according to the Office of Voter Registration.

They include:

• Tom Winslow of Georgetown, who will run against incumbent Democrat Carl Anderson for S.C. House District 103;

• Ben Dunn and Bubba Grimes, who will run against incumbent Republican County Council Member Austin Beard from District 5;

• Darryel Carr, who will run against incumbent Republican Sheriff Lane Cribb;

• Mike Andrews, who will run against incumbent Democrat Loretta Washington-Cooper for county treasurer;

• Tammie Avant, who will run against Democrat Alma White for county clerk of court;

• Kathy Harrelson and Rod Stalvey, who will run against Republican Brian Shult for county auditor.

Except for Harrelson, all the petitioners had filed to run in June’s party primaries. They were disqualified because their candidacy statements and economic interest statements weren’t filed at the same time.

A legal challenge ended up disqualifying hundreds of candidates around the state.

Harrelson, who works in the auditor’s office, decided to run after filing closed.

Incumbent Democrat Linda Mock isn’t seeking re-election.

[E-Mail Article To a Friend]

Buy Photo Reprints

ˆ€© 2012 Coastal Observer
Home | Photos | Obits | Classifieds | Local Events | Ad Specs | Subscribe